3 Photos I Took This Week – #1

Photo 1

My Record crate. I keep them ordered by last listened to – first listened to. I boosted the blacks in Photoshop to accentuate the contrasty white and black stickers and the thick fat lines they made. I hope it has enough personality to tell a story.

Photo 2

A photo I took a little while ago that I never got to use. Someone threw a trolley in the Provo river. Foreground includes part of the bridge handrail to give the viewer a way to “leap in” to the image.

Photo 3

Someone left a piñata by the trash on campus. I wish I’d had my DSLR with me, but I made it work as much as I could with my phone camera.

Isolation, as a theme, appeals to me a great deal. There’s something both wistful and freeing about it.

5 thoughts on “3 Photos I Took This Week – #1

  1. I know it was suggested that we take photos of people since they lend themselves more to purposeful imaging and storytelling, but these are magnificent. You did a remarkable job of making sure each of your photos has so much life and character even though not one of them features a person. There is a story to be told in each of these photos. My favorite is the shopping cart.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Including the handrail in the framing of the image of the cart in the river makes the photo so much more dynamic and alive. It almost feels like it has potential energy, like the viewer could decide to fling themselves over the rail at any minute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

